BETA Business Awards 2014 Finalists Announced

The nominations have been counted and the finalists in the 2014 BETA Business Awards can now be revealed. Companies and individuals nominated for the significant contribution they have made to the equestrian industry now wait to discover whether they are a winner of the one of these 11 prestigious industry accolades.

The awards will be presented during a ceremony at the annual British Equestrian Trade Association Gala Dinner, which takes place at the National Motorcycle Museum, near Birmingham, on Sunday 16 February.

“It is a tremendous achievement to reach the final of the awards and I would like to offer our congratulations to all those that have made it so far,” said BETA executive director Claire Williams. “I should also thank the trade for its generous support – from the companies providing sponsorship to the many individuals who enthusiastically submit their nominations.

“The BETA Business Awards are a great way to kick off the year and a very special occasion in the industry’s calendar, with winners collecting their trophies in front of a large trade-only audience of friends, colleagues and contemporaries. We wish all nominees the very best of luck.”
All finalists have been nominated by their customers or peers within the equestrian trade. The search for the overall winners is well under way – and the process (depending on the award category) includes BETA members’ votes, mystery shoppers and incognito telephone calls. An independent panel will scrutinise the finalists’ submissions.
The award categories are: Harry Hall Retail Employee of the Year, Joules Equestrian Event of the Year, Haygain Feed Helpline of the Year, TSM Rider of the Year, Equine Careers Sales Representative of the Year, SEIB Retailer of the Year, UKTI Export Award and Blacks Solicitors Trade Supplier of the Year. 
A full list of 2014 BETA Business Awards finalists is below.

Harry Hall Retail Employee of the Year
Bridget Guy – Countrywide Farmers, Newport, Shropshire
Jess Papworth – Redpost Equestrian, Totnes, Devon
Jo Watson – Countrywide Farmers, Totton, Hampshire
Katie Hest – Supplement Solutions, Preston, Lancashire
Sam Francis – Countrywide Farmers, Ashbourne, Derbyshire
Sophie Sperling – Tower Farm Saddlers, Rugby, Warwickshire

Joules Equestrian Event of the Year
Barbury International Horse Trials
Blair Castle International Horse Trials
Blenheim Palace International Horse Trials
Bramham International Horse Trials
Festival of British Eventing, Gatcombe

TSM Rider Award
Ben Hobday – Grub’s
Carl Hester – Classic Dressage, Nettex, Saracen Horse Feeds and Zebra Products
Gemma Tattersall – Weatherbeeta
Lizzie Brown – Horseware Ireland
Nicola Wilson – TopSpec Equine
Samantha Osbourne – Equilibrium Products

SEIB Retailer of the Year – Mail Order/Internet Retailer
Cavaletti Clothing – Ashurst, Hampshire
Dressage Deluxe – Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Equestrian Clearance Warehouse – Sowerby Bridge, West Yorkshire
Robinsons Country Leisure – Ashton-in-Makerfield, Lancashire
Silverburn Browbands – Mintlaw, Aberdeenshire
The Horse Bit Shop – Goole, East Yorkshire

SEIB Retailer of the Year – Large Tack Shop
Aivly Country Store – Ringwood, Hampshire
Countrywide Farmers – Evesham, Worcestershire
Thomas Irving Equestrian Supplies – Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Wadswick Country Store – Corsham, Wiltshire
Wynnstay Group – St Asaph, Denbighshire

SEIB Retailer of the Year – Medium Tack Shop
Houghton Equestrian/Trot 2 – Heddon-on-the-Wall, Northumberland
RB Equestrian – Great Brickhill, Buckinghamshire
Redpost Equestrian – Totnes, Devon
Tower Farm Saddlers – Rugby, Warwickshire
Widmer Feeds – Lacey Green, Buckinghamshire

SEIB Retailer of the Year – Small Tack Shop
Alan’s Ark – Fulbourn, Cambridgeshire
Alan’s Ark – Soham, Cambridgeshire
Barnstormers – Withington, Herefordshire
Crosswinds Equestrian – St Austell, Cornwall
Equicraft of Backwell – Backwell, Somerset
Equine Essentials Direct – Chalfont St Giles, Buckinghamshire
Eskdale Saddlery – Carlisle, Cumbria

Haygain Nutritional Helpline of the Year
Allen & Page
Dengie Crops
Saracen Horse Feeds
Simple Systems
TopSpec Equine

Equine Careers Sales Representative of the Year
Anna Rankine – Ariat Europe
Jade Thatcher – Finest Brands International
Lucy Edis – Carr & Day & Martin
Ruth Turnbull – Horsemasters Distribution

UKTI Export Award
Equiform Nutrition
Hilton Herbs
Horse First

Blacks Solicitors Trade Supplier of the Year
Battle, Hayward & Bower
E Jeffries & Sons
Shires Equestrian

BETA Member Directory

Find a BETA member near you.
Search by company name or postcode

Or search by map / A-Z

Become a BETA Member

BETA offers a wide range of benefits including training, discounted services and our support as the only specialist equestrian business organisation in Europe. Become a member

Shop with confidence

Shop with confidence whereever you see this sign