BETA Safety Week

 

 

28 April-6 May 2018

We're really excited to launch BETA Safety Week – a brand-new, annual awareness-raising initiative designed to put rider safety firmly on the map by highlighting the importance of safety gear and equipment that is:

  • A great fit

It should be professionally fitted and not just left to chance. One size really does not fit all – so no sharing hats or body protectors, or making do with those that are too large or too small.

  • Fastened correctly

Wear it well and your garment will do its very best to keep you as safe as possible. Hats with loose harnesses, flapping chin straps or unfastened body protectors cannot possibly do the job they were designed for.

  • Up to standard

Your riding hats, body protectors and hi-viz gear should meet the appropriate safety standards for the activity you are involved in. Don't take any chances!
Spreading the word


As the British Equestrian Trade Association, we are passionate about rider safety. We have a wealth of expert knowledge and resources, and feel that now is the perfect time to launch this high-profile campaign at the very start of the competition season.


We have the backing of some of the best equestrian names in the business and support from some of the sport's most famous names, including event rider William Fox-Pitt and jockeys Mattie Batchelor and Marc Goldstein, aka Wocket Woy & The Pwoducer. The Pony Club, British Eventing and British Riding Clubs have lent their backing, too!


Many BETA retail members are taking part in the week and will be promoting their professional fitting service to help you find the very best – and most suitable – safety garments. Some will also be running special offers and promotions. You can check out the full list of participating retailers below.


What's your story?
Have you ever had a riding accident that could have been a lot worse if you hadn't been wearing safety garments? Get in touch with Tina at tinah@beta-int.com and work with us to encourage and inspire others to stay as safe as possible.

Let's get social
Help us to send BETA Safety Week viral by linking up with us on our social media channels: Facebook @betaequestrian, Twitter@betaequestrian and Instagram @beta_equestrian. Keep a look out for our fab competitions in the run-up to the week and remember to use our hashtag #BETASafetyWeek

BETA Retail Members to visit during Safety Week (by county)

Country Ways, Aberdeen - www.countryways.com

Norvite Farm & Country, Insch, Aberdeenshire - www.norvitefarmandcountry.com

Norvite Farm & Country, Oldmeldrum, Aberdeenshire - www.norvitefarmandcountry.com

Norvite Farm & Country, Aboyne, Aberdeenshire - www.norvitefarmandcountry.com

Ayr Equestrian, Ayr, Ayrshire - www.ayrequestrian.co.uk

Jet Set Saddlery & Countrywear, Kilmarnock, Ayrshire - www.www.jetsetequestrian.com

Bedfordshire Growers, Biggleswade, Bedfordshire - www.bedgrow.co.uk

Threshers Barn, Thatcham, Berkshire - www.threshersbarn.co.uk

Country and Stable of Olney, Olney, Buckinghamshire - www.countryandstable.co.uk

Pednor Equestrian Supplies, Chesham, Buckinghamshire - www.pednor-rugs.co.uk

R B Equestrian, Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire - www.rbequestrian.co.uk

Seriously Tacky, Chesham, Buckinghamshire - www.seriouslytacky.co.uk

Two Times Tack, Long Crendon, Buckinghamshire - www.twotimestack.co.uk

Widmer Feeds, Princes Risborough, Buckinghamshire - www.widmer.co.uk

Equiworld, St Neots, Cambridgeshire - www.equiworld.co.uk

Styalways Saddlery, Chatteris, Cambridgeshire - www.styalways.co.uk

Alsager & Sandbach Saddlery, Sandbach, Cheshire - www.alsagersaddlery.co.uk

Chelford Farm Supplies, Macclesfield, Cheshire - www.chelfordfarmsupplies.co.uk

Goyt Mill Saddlery, Stockport, Cheshire - www.goytmill.com

Clonkeen Equestrian Supplies, Toomebridge, Co Antrim, Ireland - www.clonkeenequestriansupplies.co.uk

Porters Saddlery, Gowran, Co Kilkenny, Ireland - www.porterssaddlery.ie

Equipet Retail, Drogheda, Co Louth, Ireland - www.equipetstores.com

Hoofprints Innovations, Roundwood, Co Wicklow, Ireland - www.hoofprints.ie

Carrs Billington, Carlisle, Cumbria - www.carrs-billington.com

Acorn Saddlery, South Molton, Devon - www.acornsaddlery.co.uk

Barnstaple Equestrian Supplies, Barnstaple, Devon - www.horseyshopping.co.uk

Cheffings Equine, Witheridge, Tiverton, Devon - www.cheffings-equine.com

J H C Equestrian Supplies, Barnstaple, Devon - 01271 850522

Redpost Equestrian, Totnes, Devon - www.redpostequestrian.co.uk

Wychanger Barton Saddlery, Tiverton, Devon - www.wychanger.com

Hope Valley Saddlery, Somerford, Derbyshire - www.hopevalleysaddlery.co.uk

Thomas Irving, Chesterfield, Derbyshire - www.thomasirving.co.uk

New Century Saddlery, Haswell, Durham - 0191 526 2407

Equikro, Edinburgh, East Lothian - www.equikro.com

Broomfields Farm, Earls Colne, Essex - www.broomfields-farm.co.uk

Ingatestone Saddlery Centre, Margaretting, Essex - www.ingatestonesaddlery.co.uk

Newhunt Horses Equestrian, Huntley, Gloucestershire - www.newhunthorses.co.uk

Stoud Saddlery, Stonehouse, Gloucestershire - www.stroudsaddlery.co.uk

Sydney Free Saddlery, Cirencester, Gloucestershire - www.sydneyfree.co.uk

TCS Country Supplies, Berkeley, Gloucestershire - www.tcscountrysupplies.com

Aivly Country Store, Ringwood, Hampshire - www.aivly.co.uk

Mikado Equine, Medstead, Hampshire - www.mikadoequine.co.uk

Robinsons Country Leisure, Basingstoke, Hampshire - www.robinsonsequestrian.com/basingstoke

Seaforth Saddlers, Inverness - www.seaforthsaddlers.com

Birchalls The Riding Shop, Maidstone, Kent - www.birchallstheridingshop.com

Lillico's Country Store, Aylesford, Kent - www.lillico.co.uk

Old Dairy Saddlery, Romney Marsh, Kent - www.olddairysaddlery.co.uk

Speedgate Enterprises, Longfield, Kent - www.speedgate.co.uk

The Riding Habit, Sandwich, Kent - www.theridinghabit.co.uk

The Saddlery & Gunroom, Westerham Hill, Kent - www.saddleryandgunroom.co.uk

Carrs Billington Agriculture (Brock), Preston, Lancashire - www.carrs-billington.com

Hacketts Saddlery, Blackpool, Lancashire - 01253 764871

Horsebits Saddlery, Ramsbottom, Lancashire - www.horse-bits.co.uk

Naylors LLP, Rochdale, Lancashire - www.naylors.com

Robinsons Country Leisure, Ashton in Makerfield, Lancashire - www.robinsonsequestrian.com/ashton

R & R Country, Melton, Leicestershire - www.randrcountry.co.uk

Buckets Animal Feed & Tack Store, Louth, Lincolnshire - www.bucketslouth.co.uk

Chandlers Farm Equipment, Grantham, Lincolnshire - www.chandlersfe.co.uk

Chandlers Farm Equipment, Spilsby, Lincolnshire - www.chandlersfe.co.uk

Chandlers Farm Equipment, Horncastle, Lincolnshire - www.chandlersfe.co.uk

Chandlers Farm Equipment, Barnack, Lincolnshire - www.chanderlsfe.co.uk

Chandlers Farm Equipment, Holbeach, Lincolnshire - www.chandlersfe.co.uk

Newbridge Tack, Skegness, Lincolnshire - www.newbridgetackandfeeds.com

Ride and Stride Ltd, St. Arvans, Chepstow, Monmouthshire - www.rideandstride.co.uk

Nags Essentials, Kings Lynn, Norfolk - www.nagsessentials.com

Wroxham Saddlery, Norwich, Norfolk - www.wroxhamsaddlery.co.uk

Thomas Bell Country Store, Brigg, North Humberside - www.thomasbellcountrystore.co.uk

Beaver Horse Shop, Harrogate, North Yorkshire - www.beaverhorseshop.co.uk

R & R Country, Selby, North Yorkshire - www.randrcountry.co.uk

Ride-Away (York) Ltd, Sutton-on-the-Forest, North Yorkshire - www.rideawaystore.com

Robinson & Co/BATA, Malton, North Yorkshire - www.robinsonsequestrian.co.uk

Harley Equestrian, Woodford Halse, Northamptonshire - www.harleyequestrian.com

Tower Farm Saddlers, Earls Barton, Northamptonshire - www.towerfarmsaddlers.co.uk

Millside Country Store, Thurgarton, Nottinghamshire - www.millsidecountrystore.com

Retford Saddlery, Newark, Nottinghamshire - www.retfordsaddlery.co.uk

Townhead Pet & Pony, Auchterarder, Perthshire - www.townheadfarm.com

Robinsons Country Leisure, Cannock, Shropshire - www.robinsonsequestrian.com/cannock

All Your Horse Needs, Taunton, Somerset - www.allyourhorseneeds.co.uk

C J Puddy Saddlery, Bath, Somerset - www.puddys.co.uk

Iron Horse Equestrian Supplies, Doncaster, South Yorkshire - www.ironhorseequestriansupplies.co.uk

Frances Ann Brown (Saddlery), Stafford, Staffordshire - www.fabsaddlery.co.uk

Highfield Equestrian, Stafford, Staffordshire - www.onlineforequine.co.uk

Gibson Saddlers, Newmarket, Suffolk - www.gibsonsaddlers.com

Long Melford Saddlery, Sidbury, Suffolk - www.longmelfordsaddlery.co.uk

Attlees Country Store, Dorking, Surrey - www.lillicoattlee.co.uk

Chobham Rider, Woking, Surrey - www.chobhamrider.com

Snack and Tack, Farnham, Surrey - www.snackandtack.co.uk

Houghton Country, Heddon on the Wall, Newcastle, Tyne & Wear - www.houghtoncountry.co.uk

Classic Dressage, Ashbourne, Warwickshire - www.classicdressage.com

National Saddle Centre, Rowington, Warwickshire - www.nationalsaddlecentre.co.uk

Tower Farm Saddlers, Rugby, Warwickshire - www.towerfarmsaddlers.co.uk

Zoar Horse & Country Store, Neath, West Glamorgan - www.zoarsark.co.uk

Equitogs, Billinghurst, West Sussex - www.equitogs.co.uk

Stockley Trading, Littlehampton, West Sussex - www.stockleyonline.co.uk

Fox Saddlers Ltd, Wetherby, West Yorkshire - www.foxsaddlers.co.uk

Robinsons Country Leisure, Leeds, West Yorkshire - www.robinsonsequestrian.com/leeds

Wadswick Country Store, Corsham, Wiltshire - www.wadswick.co.uk

Oldfields of Ombersley, Droitwich, Worcestershire - www.oldfieldsofombersley.co.uk

Treehouse Sporting Colours, Droitwich, Worcestershire - www.treehouseonline.co.uk

 

If you are a BETA retail member and would like to get involved, please contact Philippa Macintosh in the BETA office. Tel- 01937 587062  Email- philippam@beta-int.com

 

#BETASafetyWeek18 competitions on BETA Facebook and Instagram

Terms & Conditions

The #BETASafetyWeek18 competitions take place over four weeks – on 31 March, 7 April, 14 April and 21 April.

A picture and question, or set of questions, will be set each Saturday, with the winner announced the following Friday.

Winners will be selected at random from all those posting a correct answer.

Each weekly winner will receive a BETA Goody Bag and secure entry into the final.

After the Week 4 competition, an overall winner will be selected at random from the four finalists. They will receive a £100 voucher to purchase a new riding hat or body protector from a participating BETA retailer.

The voucher must be spent on either a body protector or riding hat.

No cash alternative is available.

If a selected safety garment costs more than £100, the winner will be required to pay the shortfall. If it costs less than the value of the voucher, no change will be given.

BETA Member Directory

Find a BETA member near you.
Search by company name or postcode

Or search by map / A-Z

Become a BETA Member

BETA offers a wide range of benefits including training, discounted services and our support as the only specialist equestrian business organisation in Europe. Become a member

Shop with confidence

Shop with confidence whereever you see this sign